MSU GEO Alum, Dr. Cynthia Brewer becomes the first woman to win the O.M. Miller Cartographic Medal at the American Geographical Society Fall 2019 Symposium.

The O. M. Miller Cartographic Medal was founded by the AGS Council in 1968 for outstanding contributions in the field of cartography or geodesy.  It was named for Mr. Miller who had recently retired from the AGS staff after 46 years.  Mr. Miller was responsible for initiating a School of Surveying at the Society.  His work brought new map projections, original survey methods and instrumentation, and pioneer developments in aerial photography, photogrammetry, and new cartographic techniques to geographic science.

O.m. Miller Cartographic Medal: American Geographical Society: Since 1851